“GROW BRAVE BY REFLECTION”, LONDON, ENGLAND

Reflection can be done at any time of the year. However, there’s something about the end of a calendar year and the prospect of another just beginning that prompts the mind to start the process of reflection to ascertain how far we’ve come in such a specific space of time. A year seems like a long time but relatively, a year can go by in the blink of an eye. It’s somewhat comforting to look back on the past twelve months and observe what has changed within yourself and the world around you and determine how far we’ve come and how much we’ve grown. It can also be a little scary.2016 has been nothing short of eventful for me. Both in terms of the outside world and the world inside my own mind and soul. There’s been major change in politics, Donald freaking Trump was elected president, Britain left the EU, all around me I’ve seen regression in the way we think about and view each other as human beings. And it’s made me sad. However, it’s also made me even more determined to spread love and positivity into the world at a time when it needs it most. Within my own little world, I’ve tried to make everything beautiful, to find balance whilst seeking out growth. I’m extremely proud of what I’ve achieved in 2016 and how much I’ve grown as a person. I’ve traveled to ten countries in twelve months, been unafraid to fall in love, started this blog, graduated university with first class honors, started my first full time job and learned how to love myself unconditionally. I’ve learned how to engage with myself creatively again, rekindling a part of me I’d worried I’d lost. I’ve found new mediums of creative expression, predominantly nurtured a love for landscape photography whilst at the same time reignited my love for creative writing, a love that had been torn apart by three years at university where the topics I could write about were seemingly dictated to me, leaving me creatively drained and all around uninspired. 2016 has seen me actively pursue the desire to free my mind and no longer let fear block my creative pathways. As with everything, it’s still a work in progress and there’s always going to be room for improvement but I feel I’ve made solid progress towards the person I want to be in 2016.

I guess what I’m trying to say is this. Take advantage of reflection, don’t be afraid to praise and love yourself for the things you’ve achieved. At the same time, don’t let complacency strip you of the potential for even more progress in the year to come. There’s some amazing adventures lined up for me in 2017 and right now, I don’t know the detail in which they will take shape, only their outline. It’s an exciting prospect and one that I’m ready to explore with as much acceptance and open mindedness as I can give. When you’re looking back on this year, this month, this week, this past hour, don’t forget to look back on you and what you’ve done. Take stock of even the smallest things that have made you proud of you. You might be surprised at what you’ve achieved.

Photos featured in this post courtesy of Suite20Seven Designs.

 

Leave a Reply

